Kotoka Suzuki

Screen Shot 2013-04-01 at 6.31.54 PM

Kotoka Suzuki, born in Tokyo, Japan, is a composer focusing on both multimedia and instrumental practices. She has produced several symphonic and multimedia works, including spatial interactive audiovisual work for both concert and installation settings, often in collaboration with artists and scholars from other disciplines.  Her work is often produced in relationship to a specific site. Her work has been featured internationally at numerous festivals such as Inventionen Ultraschall, ISCM-World Music Days, Klangwerktage, sound:frame, Pan Music Festival, ICMC, Melos Ethos, and Music at the Anthology by performers such as Arditti String Quartet, Continuum, Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Mendelssohn Chamber Orchestra (Germany), Pacifica Quartet and Earplay Ensemble. She has received many awards, including Bourges, DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program, ZKM Artist-in-Resident, Robert Fleming Prize (Canada Council for the Arts), Howard Foundation Fellowship, Gerald Oshita Memorial Fellowship (Djerassi Artist in Residence), and Musica Nova Honor Prize. Associate Composer at the Canadian Music Centre since 2001.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: